Monteseel Anchors and General Beta

General climbing discussions. Climbing, Bouldering, Mountaineering. Anything!!
**Keep the arguments to the suject, not the members!
Eastward

Monteseel Anchors and General Beta

Post by Eastward » Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:10 pm

Hello All,

I hope I don't come off too ignorant here: I'm a beginner trad climber, and I'll be in Durban visiting family later this year. I've researched Monteseel quite a bit where ever I can find information (MCSA site in particular) and I'm still a bit in the dark as to what expectations to have at Monteseel regarding anchor building, top-out, rappelling etc. The main reason I ask is that where I currently climb trad, its common to have bolts/rings at the top of single pitch routes, so I'm not too well versed in building natural anchors other than for multipitch when I've hiked off or rapped using stations.

Particularly for beginner routes at the crag (let's say up to 18), could any of you provide a bit of info on climbing a typical route? is it normal to hike down the gully prior to leading? Is it typical to belay the follower from the top of the pitch then hike back down to the next route? Will I need a big length of rope (> 6m cordelette) to build anchors?

Thanks in advance for your help, I imagine the information offered will be a big help to me as a beginner, not just as it applies to Monteseel.

Regards,

East

grae22

Re: Monteseel Anchors and General Beta

Post by grae22 » Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:51 pm

Hey East

There's many, far more experienced climbers with waaay more knowledge about Monteseel... but my 2c (as a relative noob):